How we are governed

Our governance structure has been established to ensure appropriate management of strategic priorities, robust financial management, content expertise, and clear communication across all partner organisations.

Independent Advisory Board

Chaired by Prof Brian Schmidt, Vice Chancellor and President of The Australian National University, our Independent Advisory Board works in conjunction with the National Steering Committee to advocate for Australian Genomics. The Board provides independent, strategic advice, identifies national and international industry partnership opportunities and supports health policy and implementation opportunities for our research outcomes into the health system.

Brian Schmidt AC (Chair)

The Australian National University

Ian Frazer AC

The University of Queensland

Peter Yates AM

Myer Family Investments
AIA Australia

Quentin Bryce AD, CVO

25th Governor-General of Australia

Jane Halton AO PSM

COTA Australia

Kathryn North AM

Australian Genomics

Brendan Nelson AC

Australian War Memorial

National Steering Committee

The National Steering Committee is responsible for managing the scope of the research program and ensuring sound financial management. The Committee is comprised of leads from our research programs and clinical flagships, and representative of the founding institutions who conceived of Australian Genomics and contributed to the initial submission to the National Health and Medical Research Council Targeted Call for genomics research. They meet quarterly to review the progress of the research programs and allocate resources.

Prof Kathryn North (Chair)

Murdoch Childrens Research Institute

Prof Hamish Scott

Centre for Cancer Biology

Prof John Christodoulou

Murdoch Childrens Research Institute

Prof Robyn Ward

The University of Sydney

Prof Jozef Gecz

The University of Adelaide

Prof Sean Grimmond

The University of Melbourne

Prof Clara Gaff

Melbourne Genomics Health Alliance

Prof Stephen Fox

Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Prof Deborah White

South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute

Prof David Thomas

Garvan Institute of Medical Research

Prof Nigel Laing

Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research

Dr Natalie Thorne

Melbourne Genomics Health Alliance

Prof Jeffrey Braithwaite

Australian Institute of Health Innovation, Macquarie University

Prof Andrew Sinclair

Murdoch Childrens Research Institute

National Implementation Committee

The National Implementation Committee works in conjunction with the National Steering Committee to inform appropriate strategies and facilitate the implementation of Australian Genomics research outcomes into the Australian health system. Members of the Committee apply their expertise in health system planning, policy development and translation. The Committee members and Australian Genomics share a commitment to ensure the efficient, effective, ethical and equitable implementation of genomic healthcare under Australia’s National Health Genomics Policy Framework.

Bronwyn Field (Chair)

Department of Health

Kathryn North

Australian Genomics

Katherine Ong

AHMAC representative
Department of Health & Human Services

Angela Wallbank

Department of Health

Eva Pilowsky

AHMAC representative
NSW Ministry of Health

Kwun Fong

Medical Services Advisory Committee

Andrew Wilson

Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee

John Christodoulou

Australian Genomics

Robyn Ward

Australian Genomics

Andrew Sinclair

Australian Genomics

Clara Gaff

Australian Genomics
Melbourne Genomics

International Advisors

The National Steering Committee works with International Advisors to bring international best practice to our work and provide opportunities for international collaboration. Our international advisors include representatives of the Global Alliance for Genomics and Health (GA4GH), the Global Genomic Medicine Collaborative (G2MC), Genomics England, National Human Genome Research Institute (NIH), Broad Institute, Genome Canada and Genome BC.

Mark Caulfield

Genomics England

Ewan Birney

Global Alliance for Genomics and Health

Teri Manolio

National Institutes of Health
Global Genomic Medicine Collaborative

David Glazer


Heidi Rehm

The Broad Insitute

Cindy Bell

Genome Canada

Community Advisory Group

The Community Advisory Group brings together experienced patient advocates providing counsel on our research activity. The Group advises on the design and language of patient surveys, digital health and data management strategy, and ethical, legal and social analyses of genomics. The group is instrumental in the development of our online participant portal and Genomics in the Community initiatives.

Richard Vines (Chair)

Rare Cancers Australia

John Cannings OAM

Patient Advocate

Sean Murray

Mito Foundation

Prof Martin Delatycki

Victorian Clinical Genetics Services

Jessica Bean

Patient Advocate

John Christodoulou

Australian Genomics

Kathy Wells

Breast Cancer Network Australia

Rachael Casella

Patient Advocate

Joint Committee for Digital Health & Genomics

The Committee provides both Australian Genomics and the Australian Digital Health Agency advice regarding the future development of Australia’s digital health foundations, supporting the advancement of precision medicine and other activities relating to the public good which are enabled by the integration of genomic information with health and related data.

The National Implementation Committee works with the National Steering Committee to provide advice on appropriate strategies and facilitate implementation. The committee is made up of policymakers and planners from federal and state health systems.

Meredith Makeham (Co Chair)

Australian Digital Health Agency

David Hansen (Co Chair)

CSIRO e-Health Research Centre

John Cannings OAM

Patient Advocate

Tim Kelsey

Australian Digital Health Agency

Kathryn North AC

Australian Genomics

Garth McDonald

Australian Digital Health Agency

Ronan O'Connor

Australian Digital Health Agency

Sean Murray

Mito Foundation

Tiffany Boughtwood

Australian Genomics

John Christodoulou

Australian Genomics